President of the Republic of Lithuania President of the Republic of Lithuania

The President signed a law on North Macedonia


Wednesday, March 20, Vilnius – President Dalia Grybauskaitė signed into law the ratification of the protocol on the accession of the Republic of North Macedonia to NATO.

This concludes the Vilnius process launched in 2000 by ten countries declaring their aspirations to NATO membership. North Macedonia is the last of the Vilnius Ten nations that has not as yet acceded the Alliance.

The invitation for North Macedonia to join the Alliance testifies to that NATO’s open door policy is an ongoing and dynamic process. Lithuania supports the enlargement of the Alliance.

North Macedonia’s membership will increase stability and security in the Balkans region and will contribute to a stronger NATO in the face of today’s threats.

North Macedonia will become the 30th member state of NATO when the accession protocol is ratified by all member states. It has already been ratified by Albania, Bulgaria, Montenegro, Greece, Croatia, Slovenia, and Romania.

Press Service of the President

Last updated 2019.03.20 15:44