President of the Republic of Lithuania President of the Republic of Lithuania

Prestigious Peace of Westphalia Prize – for Lithuania and the Baltic states


Thursday, January 18, Vilnius – This year, the influential German Economic Society for Westphalia and Lippe awarded the Peace of Westphalia Prize to the Baltic states. President Dalia Grybauskaitė will receive this award on behalf of the Lithuanian people in Münster, Germany, at a solemn ceremony in July.

The Baltic states were selected for the Peace of Westphalia Prize for their exceptional model of democratic development and contribution to peace in the continent. The award carries a special significance because it has been given to the Baltic countries as they celebrate the centennial of their statehood.

According to the President, this award recognizes the efforts of all Lithuanian people, their peaceful way to freedom and achievements in creating an open and democratic state.

The Presidents of Latvia and Estonia will also receive the Peace of Westphalia Prize.

The Peace of Westphalia Prize, established in 1998, is awarded biennially for outstanding merits in enhancing European and global peace.  The Peace of Westphalia Prize has been previously presented to the former President of the Czech Republic, Václav Havel, King Abdullah II of Jordan, former Secretary-General of the United Nations Kofi Annan, former Chancellors of Germany Helmut Kohl and Helmut Schmidt.

The prize is also awarded to youth organizations. This year, scouts are the laureates for promoting global peace through their activities.

The Peace of Westphalia Prize was established to commemorate the 350th anniversary of Westphalia Peace that ended the Thirty Year’s War in Europe and gave rise to the modern system of states.

Press Service of the President

Last updated 2018.01.18 13:33