President of the Republic of Lithuania

Dalia Grybauskaitė attended the ceremony of Charlemagne Prize award to Emmanuel Macron


Thursday, May 10, Aachen, Germany President Dalia Grybauskaitė attended the ceremony of the International Charlemagne Prize award to the President of France, Emmanuel Macron. The ceremony was held in the Town Hall of the historic German city Aachen, which was the political center of Europe over a thousand years ago.

After World War II, the people of Aachen established the award, also known as “Oscar in Politics”. It was extended to the President of France, Emmanuel Macron, in recognition of his vision of a new, strong, united and sovereign Europe and of the re-establishment of the European project.

The Charlemagne Prize, which became a symbolic invitation to establish peace and unity in the post-war period, honors exceptional work performed in the service of European unity.

Five years ago, the International Charlemagne Prize was extended to President Dalia Grybauskaitė.

According to Dalia Grybauskaitė, all European people need strong leadership, confidence in re-established, united and strong European idea, and the President of France firmly demonstrates these qualities.

France is a strategic partner of Lithuania. We feel France’s support and solidarity in countering security challenges. French troops rotate in the Baltic states to ensure effective military deterrence. Presently, they are part of the NATO’s enhanced forward presence battalion in Lithuania.

According to the President, the Prize awarded to Lithuania five years ago and to President Emmanuel Macron this year is a reminder that prosperity and security of the European Union depend on our unity and common work in creating the future Europe. This demonstrates that each European, representing a large or small nation in terms of its stance related to values, may take decisions to promote important changes in the entire Europe.

King Felipe VI of Spain, Grand Duke Henri of Luxembourg, Chancellor Angela Merkel of Germany, President Petro Poroshenko of Ukraine, leaders of other states as well as other laureates of the Charlemagne Prize and distinguished people of Aachen also attended the award ceremony.      

In the course of seven decades, the International Charlemagne Prize was conferred on Pope John Paul II and Pope Francis, the founding fathers of the European Union Jean Monnet, Konrad Adenauer and Robert Schuman, Great Britain's Prime Minister Winston S. Churchill, U.S. President Bill Clinton, Czech humanist and former President Vaclav Havel, German Chancellor Angela Merkel, King Juan Carlos of Spain, Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands, and other prominent political figures.

Press Service of the President

Last updated 2018.05.10 15:06