President of the Republic of Lithuania President of the Republic of Lithuania

The President discussed cooperation possibilities between Lithuania and Switzerland


President Gitanas Nausėda met with Isabelle Moret, President of the National Council of Switzerland, to discuss security situation in the region, deteriorating situation in Belarus, the Ostravets nuclear power plant as well as strengthening of bilateral cooperation, fight against the climate change and consequences of the Covid-19 pandemic.

According to the President, Russia‘s aggressive politics remain the key factor, depriving our neighbors of their sovereign right to choose their own path. Only the will of the people of Belarus should define the fate of their country. The Coordination Council is a key opposition body capable of engaging in dialogue and leading to new and democratic elections.

Lithuania welcomes Switzerland‘s decision to join the European Union in imposing sanctions against top Belarusian officials. Lithuania is expanding national sanctions and has included another 100 people to the list together with Latvia and Estonia.

Possibilities for strengthening bilateral collaboration were also discussed during the meeting. The President stressed that there was untapped potential on both sides in the areas of innovation and economic cooperation. Lithuania and Switzerland have a shared position on the importance of tackling climate change and the President believes that given Switzerland’s experience in the field of developing green energy Lithuania should make every effort to intensify cooperation on ambitious climate change goals.

The President highlighted that Lithuania made significant effort to fight climate change: up to 26 percent of energy came from renewables. President Nausėda also added that Lithuania supported the EU‘s ambition to reduce emissions by 55 percent by 2030, but this target required to ensure economic and industry competitiveness and fair burden-sharing.

The Swiss parliament is comprised of two chambers – the 200-seat National Council and the Council of States where each canton has two representatives.

The President‘s Communication Group

Last updated 2020.10.20 09:45