President of the Republic of Lithuania

In Vilnius – a new impetus to Eastern Partnership


Tuesday, November 26, Vilnius - On 28-29 November, President Dalia Grybauskaitė will welcome high-ranking leaders of the European Union and Eastern Partnership countries in Vilnius. The heads of state or government of the 28 EU member states as well as Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine will gather for the Vilnius Summit. During the two-day event, they will review progress in implementing the Eastern Partnership programme and outline guidelines for the future.

On November 28, a coordination meeting of President Dalia Grybauskaitė, European Council President Herman Van Rompuy and European Commission President José Manuel Barroso will be held to discuss the situation in Ukraine and align positions on the prospects of the Eastern Partnership initiative.

It is also proposed to convene a coordination meeting of all European leaders on Thursday to adopt final decisions on the development of the Eastern Partnership programme.

The final touches concerning the summit will be put during a working dinner. Taking part in the working dinner will be the heads of state and government members of the 28 EU member states, Presidents of the European Council, European Commission and European Parliament, as well as highest representatives of the six Eastern partners.

On 28 November, the President will open a civil society conference. At the conference, civil society leaders from the Eastern Partnership countries and the European Union, experts and analysts will discuss the biggest challenges faced by civil society in the Eastern Partnership countries. New ways to support civil society organizations in those countries will be explored.

On 29 November, the President will attend the signing of agreements with the Eastern Partnership countries and a plenary session where the heads of state and government members of 34 states will discuss Eastern Partnership's progress, future perspectives and objectives. After the plenary session, President Grybauskaitė will participate in a press conference.

Later in the day, the President will meet with opposition representatives from the six Eastern Partnership countries - Ukraine, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Armenia, and Azerbaijan.

Press Service of the President

Last updated 2013.11.26 11:49