President of the Republic of Lithuania Dalia Grybauskaitė
Chair of the Council of Women World Leaders

Women Leaders will meet in Reykjavik


Dalia Grybauskaitė, the President of Lithuania and a chair of the Council of Women World Leaders (CWWL) will hold one of the largest meetings of women Presidents and Prime Ministers in CWWL history during the 2017 Women Political Leaders (WPL) Annual Global Summit in Reykjavik, Iceland on November 28 – 30, 2017. President will also deliver a keynote speech on the opening session of the summit “We Can Do It!”

Current presidents of Malta, Croatia, former Presidents of Iceland and Kosovo as well as former prime ministers of Canada, New Zealand, Finland, Slovakia, Senegal, Bermuda, Iceland and Netherlands Antilles and Secretary General of CWWL will meet to discuss Council’s activities and to honor the world’s first democratically elected woman president and co-founder of the CWWL, former President of Iceland President of Iceland.

According to the President Dalia Grybauskaitė, large attendance of the CWWL members at this event amplifies the voices of women in the world of politics. The Council is committed to raising the  visibility of women in local, national and global decision-making and advancing gender equality.

The Council of Women World Leaders is a network of 66 current and former Presidents and Prime Ministers. It is the only organization in the world dedicated to women heads of state and government. The Council of Women World Leaders Secretariat is hosted at the United Nations Foundation (UNF) in Washington, D.C and is an affiliate of UNF.

The WPL Annual Global Summit is co-hosted by the Parliament and Government of Iceland, in collaboration with the CWWL, and it will bring together women parliamentarians and political leaders from around the world. The 2017 WPL Summit will focus on pathways of advancing women’s political participation and enable the exchange of best practices for increasing women’s representation in the highest levels of decision-making.

Press Service of the President